Thursday, 11 January 2018


South Africa has been longing for President Jacob Zuma to be re-called, in parliament, and it appears their outcry did not land on deaf ears. In late December of 2017 Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa became the ANC's new president alongside his highly contested panel.
All eyes were on this particular conference with the party being split into different factions.

Ramaphosa beat fellow presidential candidate, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, by 179 votes for the highly contested position while the Premier of Mpumalanga, David Mabuza, became the new Deputy President. He ousted fellow candidate Lindiwe Sisulu by a large margin of 379 votes.

The position of National Chairperson went to Gwede Mantashe who was up against Nathi Mthethwa. Ace Magashule, Premier of the Free State, became the new Secretary General and triumphed over Senzo Mchunu by 24 votes.

Jessie Duarte remained as the ANC's Deputy Secretary General while Paul Mashatile bagged the Treasurer General position. The results yielded mixed emotions, however, from supporters and the ANCWL whose concern was that patriarchy was still strong in the liberation movement.

No comments:

Post a Comment